107 Capitol Way N., Olympia, WA 98501 | 360.357.7462 | email

Facebook Pinterest Instagram

Kathryn

Kathryn is a writer, photographer, and graduate student currently working on her MFA in Creative Writing from Pacific University. For her thesis, she’s writing a collection of short fiction. Kathryn was born and raised in Olympia and graduated from the Evergreen State College in 2017 with a degree emphasizing creative writing and media studies. Her writing has appeared in Tragedy Queens, Nasty!, and Allegory magazine. She prefers reading dark, feminist fiction and horror (like what she writes) but is also partial to non-fiction and sci-fi/fantasy. When she’s not reading or writing, she’s most likely cooking, walking, painting, or playing guitar.  

Recommended Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

I can’t recommend this book enough! An instant classic in psychological realism, cognitive dysphoria, and queer feminist fiction. A must-read for fans of Shirley Jackson and Angela Carter. Machado is a genre blender and master storyteller, weaving the surreal, fantastical, and the horrific. Incredibly relevant writing that gives voice to women’s rage, pain, and oppression. Shifting effortlessly from humor to horror, to the strange and uncomfortably familiar, there’s something here for everyone. “The Husband Stitch,” “The Resident,” and “Inventory” are my favorites. Fans of Law and Order:SVU will love “Especially Heinous.”


Staff Pick Badge
How to Suppress Women's Writing Cover Image
By Joanna Russ, Jessa Crispin (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781477316252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: University of Texas Press - April 17th, 2018

Essential reading for feminists and anyone interested in writing and literature. I couldn’t put it down. Russ breaks down the common tactics used to discount, discredit, and bury women’s writing. This book is  infuriating, inspiring, and validating. I wish I’d read it sooner! Will make you want to read more female writers.


Staff Pick Badge
All About Love: New Visions Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780060959470
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 30th, 2018

hooks analyzes our cultural lovelessness and search for love in romantic partnerships, friendships, family, the self, workplace, and soul, and guides us on the path to fostering love, while critically examining the ways patriarchy, capitalism, and white supremacy have tainted our ideas of love. Will make you evaluate your relationship with love and inspire you to form better practices of love.


 


Staff Pick Badge
The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

N.K. Jemisin is the only author to ever win a Hugo award for every book in a series, for her groundbreaking Broken Earth trilogy. This isn’t just good fantasy, it’s masterful fiction. Jemisin’s worldbuilding and complex narrative will suck you in, and her commentary on oppression will have you reaching for the next book in the series as soon as you finish this one.


Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781631493416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - October 10th, 2017

Biography at its finest. I couldn’t put it down. As a Jackson fan, I was delighted to learn more about the author of my favorites The Haunting of Hill House, We Have Always Lived in the Castle, and “The Lottery.” As a woman, I was heartbroken to learn how sexism and misogyny affected Jackson. As a writer, I was hooked by Franklin’s prose, so moved by the narrative she made of Jackson’s life that I cried, laughed, and sighed as I read. Recommended for Jackson fans, biography lovers, and writers.


Adèle: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143132189
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Penguin Books - January 15th, 2019

If you liked The Perfect Nanny, you’re going to love Adele. Slimani’s crisp, minimal prose and short, punchy scenes make for irresistible writing. You’ll be pulled in by the grit and desire to make sense of Adele, but Slimani offers no reductions or explanations. You won’t want to put it down.


An Unkindness of Ghosts Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781617755880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Akashic Books - October 3rd, 2017

I could not put this book down. Life on the ship Matilda is brutal. Picture an antebellum plantation set in space. But there is beauty here too. Solomon’s prose is lyrical and profound. Their greatest strength is their characterization - Aster, Theo, Giselle and the Sovereign will stick with you. I loved the gender variance and queerness in this book, as well as the commentary on race and class. Recommended for fans of N.K. Jemisin.


First, We Make the Beast Beautiful: A New Journey Through Anxiety Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062836786
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Dey Street Books - April 24th, 2018

I wish I’d read this book sooner. As someone who has struggled with daily anxiety since childhood, it was long overdue. Wilson offers no answers but plenty of tips and tricks for easing anxiety and, more importantly, altering the way one thinks of anxiety. The book is written as a series of notes, conversational in tone, making it more accessible than academic.


Friday Black Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781328911247
Availability: Not in Stock... Available to ship in 3-5 days

Published: Mariner Books - October 23rd, 2018

You need to read this book! The stories in Friday Black are strange, brutal, beautiful and illuminating. Adjei-Brenyah crafts complex characters, rich worlds, and tight narratives that comment on the violence of white supremacy and capitalism, proving no idea is too big for the form. Easily the best short story collection I’ve read all year.


Northwood: A Novella Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781948226011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Black Balloon Publishing - November 6th, 2018

North Wood: A Novella is haunting and beautiful. A novella told via poetic entries of varying length and form, it details the formation, rise, and fall of a violent affair between an isolated woman and an older, married man. I love the cover and pages of this book too!


image created by sara mcnally | constellation & co | seattle, wa
Browsers Bookshop

107 Capitol Way N.
Olympia, WA 98501
[between 4th Ave + State]
360.357.7462 | andrea@browsersolympia.com

Hours of Operation

Monday-Saturday: 10am-7pm
Sunday: 11am-5pm
 

Find us on Social Media
Facebook Pinterest Instagram Tumbler