107 Capitol Way N., Olympia, WA 98501 | 360.357.7462 | email

Facebook Pinterest Instagram

Kathryn's Staff Picks

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
Her Body and Other Parties: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Graywolf Press - October 3rd, 2017

I can't recommend this book enough! An instant classic in psychological realism, cognitive dysphoria, and queer feminist fiction. A must-read for fans of Shirley Jackson and Angela Carter. Machado is a genre blender and master storyteller, weaving the surreal, fantastical, and the horrific. Incredibly relevant. Gives voice to women's rage, pain, and oppression. Effortlessly shifts from humor to horror. "The Husband Stitch," "The Resident," and "Inventory" are my favorites.


Staff Pick Badge
How to Suppress Women's Writing Cover Image
By Joanna Russ, Jessa Crispin (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781477316252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: University of Texas Press - April 17th, 2018

ssential reading for feminists and anyone interested in writing and literature. I couldn't put it down. Russ breaks down the common tactics used to discount, discredit, and bury women's writing. This book is infuriating, inspiring, and validating. I wish I'd read it sooner! Will make you want to read more femme writers.


Staff Pick Badge
All About Love: New Visions Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780060959470
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 30th, 2018

hooks analyzes our cultural lovelessness and search for love in romantic partnerships, friendships, family, the self, workplace and soul, and guides us on the path to fostering love while critically examining the ways patriarchy, capitalism, and white supremacy have tainted our ideas of love. Will inspire you to form better practices of love. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now

Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

N.K. Jemisin is the only author to ever win a Hugo award for every book in a series, for her groundbreaking Broken Earth trilogy. This isn't just good fantasy, it's masterful fiction. Jemisin's world-building and complex narrative will suck you in, and her commentary on oppression will hook you.


image created by sara mcnally | constellation & co | seattle, wa
Browsers Bookshop

107 Capitol Way N.
Olympia, WA 98501
[between 4th Ave + State]
360.357.7462 | andrea@browsersolympia.com

Hours of Operation

Monday-Saturday: 10am-7pm
Sunday: 11am-5pm
 

Find us on Social Media
Facebook Pinterest Instagram Tumbler